Holy Trinity Church (York)
Holy Trinity is one of the fascinating and delightful little churches in the ancient city of York.
In theory in Goodramgate, it is actually acessible by passages from either Goodramgate or Low Petergate, and is therefore quite secluded from the bustle of the busy city
The church dates back to the 14th century. There are box pews, and a two-decker pulpit. The floor is uneven, undulating with the soil beneath.
The East window dates from 1472, and was the gift of John Walker, a prominent member of the Guild of Corpus Christi and also the Guild of St. George and St. Christopher.
A regular worshipper at Holy Trinity was George Hudson, the railway king.
Holy Trinity is one of a large number of surviving mediaeval churches in York, but is no longer used for regular worship. It is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.