Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

Old House (Hereford)

The Old House is a well known building in the city centre of Hereford.

A picturesque timber framed house, it stands in the wide paved open space known as High Town.

The Old House is a jettied building with three storeys that dates from 1621. It has many latticed windows and carved gables.

Over the door is the coat of arms of the Butchers' Guild, and this can be explained by the fact that it is the last surviving part of the Shambles, where animals were slaughtered and the resulting meat sold.

After use as a fish shop, saddlery, hardware shop and bank, it is now run by the City Council as a museum.

Bookmark this page

Bookmark this page with

What is

Places in Hereford...

Events in Hereford...