Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

Edinburgh Waverley Station (Edinburgh)

Edinburgh Waverley Station is one of the three railway stations serving the historic city of Edinburgh.

The others are Haymarket Station and Edinburgh Park Station.

It was first constructed in 1874 and rebuilt between 1896 and 1899. The station is named after the Waverley novels of Sir Walter Scott, and is situated close by the Princes Street Gardens.

Trains come from London, leaving from Kings Cross Station, and arriving by way of Peterborough, York, Durham and Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

They continue to Linlithgow, Falkirk and Glasgow.

Another line runs to Kirknewton and Carlisle.

Yet another runs to Inverkeithing, Dunfermline and Dundee.

A short branch line runs to Brunstane and Newcraighall.

There was once a multiplicity of local lines, running to such places as Leith and Portobello.

Bookmark this page

Bookmark this page with

What is

Places in Edinburgh...