Holy Trinity Church (Colchester)
It is situated in Trinity Street, almost opposite the picturesque old house known as Tymperleys.
The West tower dates from the Saxon period, and is made largely of Roman brick. There is a small Saxon doorway with a triangular head, and some Saxon upper windows.
The East end of the chancel is 14th century, and the rest is Victorian.
There is a monument to William Gilberd, the discoverer of electricity, who was born at Tymperleys.
Holy Trinity was closed as a place of worship in 1952, and reopened as a Museum of Social History in 1974. It is now closed again.